Classic Victoria Sponge with blackberries and cream

When I was younger nothing seemed to complete a Sunday tea like a Victoria Sponge.

And, until this spring, I’d forgotten that and had never baked one in my adult life – so I decided to give it a go.

I’d had a trial run around the time of the Royal Wedding as I’d decided my contribution to our street party would be a heart-shaped (natch) Victoria sponge filled with summer fruits and whipped cream. It screamed kitsch and royalty rolled into one.

I used 8 inch tins and I’m pretty sure I doubled the recipe below. And I think the final thickness was perfect – nothing worse than a thin sponge.

If you’ve never made a Victoria sponge mixture, it’s a very thick batter. I wasn’t too sure when I first tipped it into the tin but it was lovely when baked. Really light.

Ingredients

200g butter

200g caster sugar

1/2tsp vanilla essence

4 free range eggs

200g self-raising flour, sifted

A tbsp of milk to loosen the batter

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 190C/350F/Gas 5. Grease and line 2 x 20cm/8in sandwich tins.
  2. Mix the butter, sugar and vanilla essence in a bowl or food processor until well combined.
  3. Slowly beat in the eggs one by one. Fold in the sifted flour and carefully pour the mixture into the prepared tins.
  4. Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden-brown. Test by pushing a skewer into the centre of the cake. If the skewer comes out clean the cake is ready.
  5. Turn the cake out onto a wire rack and set aside to cool.
  6. Spread one cake with whipped cream. Cover with fresh fruits of your choice and place the other cake on top.
  7. To serve, dust with icing sugar and cut the cake into slices.

 

Royal Wedding sponge

